Grammys To Pay Homage To Famous Icons George Michael And Prince

This year's Annual Grammy Awards will be convened in Staples Center in Los Angeles on February 12, 2017.

The Premiere Ceremony will also take place on the same day before the main event and will be hosted for the first time by James Corden.

Nominees for the Prestigious awards have already been announced last December 2016 which included front-runners Adele and of course Queen Bey, as well as the stars who would be paying tribute to famous stars who have contributed vastly to Hollywood's music industry.

Tribute For Prince And George Michael

This year, although not yet confirmed by Grammy's, famous stars John Legend and Cynthia Erivo were surmised to lead the tribute for famous icon's Prince and George Michael who have died last year.

"George Michael and Prince were pop icons who showcased rare musical genius and otherworldly charisma," Neil Portnow stated. He also stated that both possessed a well defined style and sound and that they were both adored by audiences from all around the world. According to the President/CEO of The Recording Academy, "The passing of two such creative innovators were a huge loss for the creative community; The Recording Academy is humbled to pay homage to their tremendous legacies on the Grammy stage."

2016 - Death Of Many Famous Icons

Grammy producer Ken Ehrlich also released a statement via Rolling Stone that the year 2016 has been a year faced with the death of numerous famous icons incuding Leonard Cohen, Sharon Jones, Leon Russell, Merle Haggard, Phife Dawg and Frank Sinatra Jr. hence they wouldn't want to deny a part of the show in remembering their great contributions.

This year's performers includes big names such as Lady Gaga alongside Metallica, The Weekend, Katy Perry, Queen "B", Carrie underwood, Keith Urban, Bruno Mars and many more. The show is scheduled for broadcast on February 12, 2017 via CBS Television Network. CBS channels are 148 for sky users, 192 for Virgin users, 137 for Freesat users and 64 for Freeview users.

© 2017 iTech Post All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

More from iTechPost