WhatsApp started beta-testing two-step verification to all its users on Android, iOS and Windows last November. This time, the messaging application has discreetly made the security feature accessible to all clients.
Two-Step Security Measures
The two-step verification adds greater safety to the account. It enables the users to create a six-digit passcode, which helps verify the phone numbers. The user has the privilege to enter their email address optionally.
WhatsApp will send a link via email to disable two-step verification in case that the users forget the six-digit passcode. It allows an additional security to the account. WhatsApp suggests that users should provide the valid email address in case the users may get locked-out of the account. However, this feature still remains optional, as per Tech Crunch.
How Does It Work?
According to Ars Technica, if someone is attempting to login into the other's account, an email will be sent to the user requesting to disable the code. To activate the two-step verification, just navigate to the Account page under Settings on WhatsApp and choose Two-Step Verification.
If the two-step verification is enabled, the phone number will not be allowed to re-verify on WhatsApp within seven days. If the user forgot his own passcode and did not give an email to disable two-step verification, still WhatsApp will not permit it to re-verify within seven days of the last login.
After these seven days, the number will now be allowed without the passcode. However, the user will lose all pending message after re-verifying. Thus, everything will be erased.
In the event that the number is re-verified on WhatsApp following 30 days of the last login without using the passcode, the user's account will be erased. Then, another account will be made upon effectively re-verifying. To help users recall their password, WhatsApp will intermittently request to enter their password. There is no alternative option to stop this without disabling the two-step verification feature.