Nine Teams Homolgated In The 2018 Formula E Season, Get To Know Who's Who

Formula E, a class of auto racing event known for using all-electric-powered cars, have recently announced the nine manufacturers that will race their own versions of electric cars in seasons five, six, and seven, respectively. However, for car enthusiasts, season Five is believed to represent a vital step especially when it comes to the development of the first FIA championship that features single-seaters which are usually solely powered by electricity. That said, the catch is that beginning in season five, each driver will use just a single car for the entire race, rather than the current two.

One Car Per Driver Policy

Previously, due to the fact that battery technology has lagged behind series founder Alejandro Agag's ambition for all-electric racing, Tech Crunch reported that Formula E teams would normally have two drivers with two cars per driver, so four cars in the garage.In the middle of the race, that is usually being marked after about an hour on the track, the driver would pull onto pit row leaving the first car for the second identical vehicle - but only with a fresher battery engine, which has also been likened to refueling. With the new single-car policy, which is set to cover three seasons starting from its season five debut, will begin in fall of 2018.

The Nine Manufacturers For The 2018 Formula E Season

According to Pitpass, the number and the quality of manufacturers that has requested and has been granted the homologation for their powertrain for three seasons is considerably a clear indication that the championship is constantly growing and is proving to be very attractive both in terms of its audience figures and the partnerships that it is apparently appealing. In addition, the FIA Formula E Championship has also revealed that this round of homologations would mean that the powertrains will be in-line with the new cycle of homologation for the chassis and battery, which will allegedly remain standard up until the end of the seventh season. The nine lucky manufacturers are as follows; ABT Formel E, BMW AG, DS Automobiles, Jaguar Land Rover, Mahindra Racing, NextEV NIO, Penske Autosport, Renault and Venturi Automobiles.

In one of his statements, FIA President, Jean Todt was quoted to have said that the FIA Formula E Championship has been going for a little over three years now, and that more than just being recognized as one of the most interesting and innovative race events, Formula E has been successful because of its technical development. Ultimately, Alejandro Agag, Founder & CEO of Formula E has added that it is Formula E's mission to act as a platform to advance the development of electric vehicle technology and alternative energy solutions.


© 2021 iTech Post All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

More from iTechPost