NBA Players Awards Predictions: Westbrook, Leonard, Green, Saric And D'Antoni Making A Late Push

The NBA regular season is already down to its last week. However, there are multiple players who are making a strong push to make an impression to the league. Russell Westbrook showed it during their last game and right now, Kawhi Leonard, Draymond Green, Dario Saric ad Coach Mike D’Antoni is following his step.

It has been a tradition already in the NBA to give out numerous awards to its players. This is one way to recognize the contribution and greatness that the players show throughout the season. The MVP Award is regarded as the highest individual award to be given out in any sport. Today, NBA has already narrowed down their choices in this year's MVP race.

MVP Award

Russell Westbrook is on top of the mountain right now with regards to the MVP race but Houston Rockets James Harden is not that far behind. Westbrook and the great Oscar Robertson are the only players who were able to average a triple double in a single season. On the other hand, James Harden is the league leader in assist and his field goal percentage is a lot better than Russell Westbrook.

Defensive Player Of The Year

The Defensive Player Of The Year Award is still up for grabs. However, there are marquee names from the beginning of the season that are consistent with regards to their numbers. If the award will be based on individual numbers, Kawhi Leonard is the frontrunner of the DPOY Award. Leonard is already a 2x defensive player of the year and him getting another one will automatically put his name in the record books. Draymond Green from Golden State Warriors is making a case as well as he is regarded as the defensive anchor in their team.

Rookie Of The Year

Dario Saric and Malcolm Brogdon are neck and neck with the Rookie Of The Year Award. The versatile big man from the 76ers is averaging 12 ppg, 6.3 rpg and 2.2 apg, while the young buck Malcolm Brogdon has 10.3 ppg, 4.3 apg and 2.8 rpg. Saric might have an edge with individual numbers but his team is one of the weakest in the league.

Coach Of The Year

Lastly, the Coach Of The Year Award boils down to two candidates. Houston Rockets Mike D’Antoni and Boston Celtics Brad Stevens. When Mike D’Antoni took over the Rockets, multiple analyst stated that their team would not make the playoffs. Unfortunately, they are wrong as D’Antoni proved that he is still one of the best tacticians in the NBA. Brad Stevens also shut down its doubters as he proved that aged is just a number in coaching.

© 2021 iTech Post All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

More from iTechPost